Can’t Forget.

Well, here it is.  9-11-11.  the ten year anniversary of a day that no one can forget, no matter how hard they try. I know I can’t.  I will always remember where I was, what I was doing and how I felt when I saw the news that morning.  I had just gotten back home from dropping my then husband off on base (he was in the Navy) and turned on the TV.  I looked at the news and they were saying one of the towers was hit by an airplane.  I figured, like many others, that it was an accident.  That is until we all witnessed the second plane, on camera, hit the other tower.  I was in total disbelief.  I tried to call my husband but the lines were so flooded on base that no one could get though, and when I finally did, I found out the base was on lock down. I was scared.

I could not help but watch the two towers fall. With it fell my sense of security and certainty. The world would never be the same.

To this day I have not really been able to watch anything on the events of that day.  It is not that I do not want to honor those who lost their lives that day, I just do not ever want to feel what I felt that morning. I am honored to be an American and am will always mourn the losses we all had because of that day. Some lost their lives, all lost our innocence.

So to the Police Officers, Firefighters, Dispatchers, Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, and Marines: Thank You.  There is nothing more I can say to convey my gratitude for all that you do without question.  You do it because you care.

~ by phoenix924 on September 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
