Is it true we should always follow our gut feelings?

I would like to think I have pretty good instincts when it comes down to it.  I can usually tell within the first few minutes talking to a person if I will want to keep talking to them or if I would rather not talk to them again.   I would also like to think that I listen to my gut reaction when at all possible, but I don’t and sometimes it gets me into a position I would rather not be in.

With the situation I am in now, I have to put myself out there to meet people I will possibly rent a room to.  Let me start by saying I am not a big fan of having to do this as I do not usually like to let strangers into my home, let alone trust them to live here.  I didn’t listen to my gut with the first one because I needed the money to pay the bills and it ended up with him doing drugs, me kicking him out, and having to start the process all over again.  The renter I had next I totally lucked out with and was sad to see him go.  We got along instantly and I never had a feeling to tell me otherwise.  So here we go – round three.  I have met one or two potential renters and didn’t get any weird vibes from them but they found other places to live.  That is fine, but it is getting down to the wire here and I am getting to the point where I can either A) choose to not listen to what my gut is saying or B) listen to my gut and risk not finding anyone.

So there is my dilemma.  I am set to meet someone tonight after work in order to see if he is a psycho or not. We will meet in a public place and go from there. Hopefully I wont get a strong feeling against this one, mainly because I am tired of looking.  If I get a slight “not so great feeling” I will just be a little more careful at the house, locking my bedroom door etc… Ok, Ok, no more negatives..  You have to keep positive, right?

Wish me luck!

~ by phoenix924 on September 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
