Alicia and the Marshmallow factory

So I decided to try something I had never done – make marshmallow.  Yeah I know I can buy them in the store, but if you have never had a hand made marshmallow, you do not know what you are missing.  They are like heavenly little pillow of goodness. I am actually surprised how easy it is to make them.  They seem daunting but if you have the right equipment and some patience it is all good. The Actual Directions

So here are some pictures of my process (well, some of it.  I forgot to take pics of the very beginning but who wants to see sugar boil, really?)

OK so here’s what you missed:  I boiled sugar and poured it on top of some gelatin I soaked in water, I turned on my Kitchen aid (Audrey – yes I named her) and beat the living daylights out of it until fluffy and gooey.

Exhibit A:

Then I added beaten egg whites and vanilla ( I used meringue powder since it is not cooked) And beat the crap out of it a little more until shiny and soooooo good.

Exhibit B:

Once that is all done I spread it our into a pan that was coated with powdered sugar (these things are sticky!) and put in the fridge to chill out for a bit.
Exhibit C:
See them again in a bit when I cut them up 🙂  Until then, I clean up and decide who gets to lick the beater.  That’s right I am the only one here… I guess it’s me!  YAY!
Exhibit D: All cut up and rolled in more powdered sugar.  Who wants some?

Bonus:
I covered some in chocolate!
~ by phoenix924 on September 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
