The water brings me home.

As I sit here on the balcony of my hotel room, looking out over the bay into the Gulf, I am reminded of how much I enjoy being near water.  Growing up I was always down at Lake Michigan just sitting on the rocks listening to the sound of the waves breaking.  To me, that is one of the best sounds in the world.

I think I need to be near water again. There is something about the sound, the feel, and the breeze coming off of the water that makes me feel whole.  I have not felt like this in a while.  The weight of the world and all that is going on just disappears for a little while. Nothing matters but this very moment in time.  I watch the couples walking hand in hand and the families walking with their children, wide eyed and pointing at all they see – fish, seagulls, the boats.  There is something magical about it.

I needed this recharge.  I feel at peace when I am near water. Maybe someday I will be able to live in a place where I can see and hear this everyday, to feel like this everyday.  Even in a city I have never been, the water makes me feel at home and happy.

The serenity of it all helps me think as well as helps me to stop thinking, if that makes any sense.  I am centered and can focus on what is important, which is me right now.  I do not have to worry about anything back at home until Wednesday and I am going to try and keep it that way. I am so content I could shed a tear of relief and joy.  But, I must go and get back to the sounds and sights that call to me.

~ by phoenix924 on August 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
