New way of thinking (for me)

So it has been a few days since I posted anything.  I haven’t had much to say, believe it or not.  I am in a place where I feel… I don’t know how to describe it.  I am trying not to stress out about little things, or big things for that matter. Talking to a few people I know that have seen things no one should have to see by being in the military, I am trying to take their lead and not take life too seriously.  I think that has been one of my main problems in life – taking things way too seriously.

If I look at things that I have to deal with now the way I used to, I would be seriously freaking out. Not to say I am totally letting things slide, I am just not obsessing over them.  For example, I need a roommate.  I put out an ad or two and that is all I can do.  Me stressing out about it and getting worked up does not help the situation or get me one any sooner.  The same goes for dating.  I figure, if it happens – great, if not – that is OK too.  It just was not meant to happen.  I am not going to settle for the first guy to pay attention to me. I deserve better than that.

I have been trying this new way of thinking for a few days now and it makes sense. I guess it took talking to friends who have seen things from a new perspective.  One of my friends was injured overseas and is currently living on base waiting to be medically retired.  He has a few operations ahead of him as well as dealing with a major head injury. Yet, he laughs and has a great outlook on life.  My problems seem so small and petty in comparison, I have no real reason to complain.  I have a job.  I have a car.  I have a home.  I am (relatively) healthy.  I am pretty lucky.  So what if I do not have a boyfriend.  Big deal.  Yes, it would be nice, but do I absolutely need one to live? I don’t think so.

I am going to see how long I can keep this up and maybe I will become a better person.  Even if I don’t and stay how I am, that really wouldn’t be that bad.  I think I am pretty awesome anyway :).

~ by phoenix924 on August 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
