Ya gotta have friends

Friends Rock!  If you get a good one, they are worth their weight in gold.  Be it someone you go out to the movies with, someone you chat with online due to being a few states away, or someone you don’t talk to or see very often but know will always be there for you, they are a very important part of life.

Having someone you can share things with without feeling like you will be judged or looked down upon is one of the most important things in life, I believe. I may not have a ton of friends, but the ones I do are precious to me.  They always seem to know when I need to get out of the house, need to talk or vent, or just need someone there to hold me as I cry. I am lucky enough to have all of these. Some of these friends are family by blood, some are family by choice.  Take my best friend Dave.  He and I have been friends for almost 30 years. (OK now THAT makes me feel old) I consider him my brother.  He and I have been through everything together and I know he will always be there for me no matter what.  I love him for that.
We have a lot of funny stories together too – I’m sure he is more than happy to tell you the birthday party story – ugh!

We can always use more friends, and we have the chance to make them daily. We just have to remember, what you get is what you give.  If you do not have any luck finding a friend you truly treasure, try being what you expect from a friend.  Be supportive, non-judgmental, open, honest, caring, and most of all, true.

~ by phoenix924 on August 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
